Saturday, December 31, 2011

Food Poisoning + Drinking a Bottle of Vodka = Horrendousness. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever do this.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Quick Facts 2011

Its the end of the year, and as I insinuated with the Beauty and the Beast post, I have changed a bit in the past year. In fact, I have grown quite a bit, and I am happy for that.
  1. I got to play softball again with no restrictions besides wearing an ankle brace. 
  2. I lost in the polls to Angela Wiley, yet somehow managed to get my spot back in CSG
  3. I got an on campus job
  4. Ian and I broke up, and got back together
  5. I gained a little brother by the name of Corey Weese
  6. I lost a roommate, and then got a single
  7. I gained a few bestfriends
  8. I lost some friends from home. 
  9. I managed to not get pregnant(hey I am from akron where there is something in the water apparently so safe sexual practices work for this)
  10. I became an obsessive hockey fan. 
  11. With that, I found two favorite players.(29, and 58)
  12. I attended my first Pens Game, and my first Chatham Hockey Game
  13. I did practically all of Alex's rehab during the fall ball season
  14. Somehow I managed to pass calc with a b
  15. I started two organizations on campus
  16. I got my list figured out for grad school
  17. My booski and I managed to not run into anything(big achievement there)
  18. I turned 21!
  19. I began to learn that I am prettier(and in better shape) than I think I am.
  20. I learned that through my injury, that I did not let my teammates down, letting them down would mean not working my ass off to come back. 
  21. I finally got to wear heels for the first time in two years
Though that list is only 21 items long, there is so much more that I got to do and experience just in this past year, and I know the list will only grow in 2012. I am one semester away from being a senior, and you know what? I cannot wait for it. Not because I cannot wait to graduate, but because I cannot wait for all the new experiences that lie ahead, especially with my friends at hand, and my life in pittsburgh just beginning. Oh thats right, I never formally announced that once I graduate, I am going to become a permanent resident of the 'burgh.

Yours Truly
La

Friday, December 9, 2011

Dear Santa

Dear Santa
I know I went psycho in the early part of the year, and I know I haven’t exactly been good, but if you could give me a break seeing as I am in college, and technically because of that and experimentation allowed to be naughty, I would be grateful, and loving, and a perfect angel next year.
What is my list you ask, well…
  • An escape from Physics
  • Death to Statistics
  • Fleury and Letang Jerseys(one in the black, one in the white)
  • Fleury and Letang in general
  • a Penguins stanley cup final win
  • Ian to get a job, and succeed in school(I know, asking a lot there, but seriously, let my boy succeed)
  • My family to go a day without fighting and hating each other(I know, another hard one to do between my extended family)
  • A healthy Hockey Team
  • Julianne to no longer get hit in the face in basketball
  • A Softball team making it to playoffs, and coming at least in 4th place in the PAC
  • my team to not get frustrated and spread it around at practice/games.
  • Cory, Holly, Ian, mom, dad, and friends to stay safe and healthy.
I know its a lot to ask for, but if even just one of those things happens(like a fleury in my stocking for example), I will be a very happy female.
Thank You
La

There Must Be More Than This Provencial Life

Or at least, thats what I said to myself every day I was in Akron. Yep, I can relate the first 18 years of life to beauty and the beast. Bookworm? Check. Jerk ass douchebag trying to get with me? Check. Beastly man who has my heart, Check. Crazy father who spends too much time fixing things and being stressed, check. Sure, I have my mother, but this isn't disney.

Everything is always the same, and honestly, whenever I am at home, everything is the same. Ellet kicks everyones asses at softball, my neighborhood never changes, the stores never change, routines never change, friends never change, and honestly, I feel as though Akron is locked in time. Nothing ever changes, Mayor Don is never going to leave, East will never have a chance at softball, Akron U will spend money on the failing sports and not on Soccer(which our soccer team is a-feaking-mazing. World Championship, you would never know we had one). People constantly getting pregnant(seriously, too many girls who graduated with me already have one child, some have another on the way), and the system for getting in for internships is still the same. aka, If you do not go to akron U, you do not get any.

Even my friends there have not changed too much. All still have pretty much the same problems, and honestly, there has to be more than that. There has to be.

And there is, once you get out of Akron, everything changes. I have heard that from the others who were in my graduating class and got out. You change, you grow, you adapt, and you learn that though your home has a hold on you because of your family, that if they really want you to suceed, that they get you out of there. That's why I want to live here once I graduate. Its why I want to leave Ohio, and only visit it once in a while. I do not want to be where everything stays the same. I want to be where the waters always changing, ever flowing(yep I just got you with Pocahontas). Home is where the heart is so they say, but home is where you are happy, and honestly, I am not happy in Akron, I am happy in Pittsburgh. Though my family and some of my closest friends are in Akron, its not my home, not anymore.

You have to change, you have to adapt, and you have to grow. You have to take the risk and go somewhere that you may not like, just to get out and experience something new. I am ever grateful that I took the plunge to go to an all girls school in Pittsburgh, I doubt I could be any happier than I am when I am here. I would still be grateful even if I hadn't taken the plunge. I am grateful for my family for nudging me out here, and helping me be happier, healthier, and better than I would have been if I had stayed in Akron.

Thankful for each and every one of you
La(in pittsburgh), Lo(at home)

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Sassy not Skanky

Going out tonight, looking sassy rather than skanky. No holy heels tonight, as I do plan on getting close to trashed. Having the hockey game on right now is amazing, even though flower isnt in the goal, its Johnson’s 300th game and I think he deserves it. Its nights like these that I wish my camera hadn’t broke in my backpack. It was in a case, and yet it still got a really bad pressure crack on the screen, so even though it will take pics, I have no clue if they will come out. Here’s to celebrating my 21st with jules(my lab partner in crime, and partner for life), and alex(yeah, the leftie who will probably die to stress from a right handed object). I love my life until next week.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Today started out great, I was downtown, ahead of schedule, my bus was slightly early, and I had my ticket ans was ready to go until I realized my wallet was still on the 71d. Yes, I lost my wallet, its at the bus garage, and I have a claim number, but no idea if any of my cards are in it. Needless to say, the credit card has been canceled, and a hold was placed on my debit card. I am so freaked out right now, my emotions are fried and I am pissed at myself for leaving my wallet on the bus. My id's were both in there, my keys are there, and I am now entering ohio without any of my hand sanitizer, my dubloon, and my flip flop wearing flamingo. I am nervous, and scared that someone took my cards and don't feel great about the fact that I had to cancel them both. I am just ready to be done for the day, but I am getting another license today as its up for renewal next week anyways.

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Are We World Ready Enough?

I have been thinking about the last year quite a bit this week. From the fact that I went from having absolutely no use of my right leg, to walking, to sprinting, jogging, agillity, tugging, shifting, and now rock wall climbing is amazing. I have also been thinking about my class situation. This time last year I was afraid that I would have to retake chemistry again, now, I am free from it for a really long time. I had a total of four classes, now I am lucky just to have four on one day. I had an amazing roommate in the apartments, and now, I have closer relationships with friends though I am in a single. It's been a good, long year, and there are so many more to come. But its amazing to stop and think of everything you have done in a year. We won BOTC twice, softball score keeping had its best records though the stats were still screwed up though there was a flawless book. I walked, I ran, I moved, and lost thirty pounds. I saw my first hockey game at the Energy Center, broke up and then got back together with my boyfriend. Said goodbye to my sisters boyfriend before he left for the marines. He's back at home as of midnight btw. I played two games in fall ball, one of which we won, another in which we should have won. I attended an 80's dance, made it off campus a bit, and I spent time with the girls who I've come to see as family. Its been a good year, and there are only a few more left before we all seperate and go our separate ways into grad school, and into the real world. Thats what scares me, the real world and actually succeeding. Am I world ready enough? Well, I have another year before grad then three more after that to find out.

 Are we ever really ready to go out and make our own decisions? I do not mean living on campus in an apartment where there really is no monthly rent, and not to mention utility cost. How will we know that these are the steps we need to take as we are coached the entire step of the eay until someone says, hey, you're ready go find a job, a house, a significant other and live your life both safely, but also funly. Its impossible to know until we take those first steps, and we are all afraid of failure. But we have to remember, we will all fail sometimes. We try to stay positive but also have to expect the failure and have a back up plan. But what if the back up plan does not work. Their are so many What If's in life that the mere thought of it makes my mind reel.

Are we ever truly world ready women? Does it hit us when we graduate. Is it like a secret tattoo that once the ink is placed in your skin all the knowledge of what you need to know is transferred to your brain? No, its us taking those first few test steps into the water, testing the temperature to see if its right for us to jump in and not scald/freeze ourselves. We won't know until we actually do it and its the fact that we don't know what the results will be that makes the whole fear of the unknown so much greater. We are judged by our strengths, weaknesses, failures and choices, so its perfectly alright to be afraid to decide. Its fine to not want to make the decision, but we have to make that decision sometime.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Down with the lefties

So you know all those times where you hear something that you just have to tell someone close to you about. Information so excititng, or even not so much exciting that you just have to get out and tell a good friend. Well, I can't anymore because the person whose characteristic is in the blog title hears all the information I want to tell her when I hear it. Then I forget that tiny detail and tell her a good day or two later while I am all excited and happy, only to hear the reply of "I know, I was with you". or "I know, I was there".

 But isn't that how everything is though. We forget the small details over the excitement of a big one. We forget the people we are with at the time all because we lose focus on that moment over a detail that really does not matter all too much when you think about it. We forget who we tell information too, and its not because we do not care, its because we simply believe that news this good is better than the time we are having which seems cold and uncaring, but it is not in the context.

 Or maybe I am just forgetful and need to bring out a right handed chainsaw

Amnesia Much?
Laurel Lee

Monday, November 14, 2011

Well according to all the staff that were at BOTC friday night, we should have won as they enjoyed ours the most. Guess we just got the bad luck with the judging.

My conference was pretty fun to go to, and I have made an outline of it to send to everyone who wants to read it.

I can't wait to go home and get bunny cuddles, I miss my baby girl

This random post about random things will now randomly end.

I lied, I guess I am just so jumbled up right now between school and everything that there is no cohesiveness to my thoughts. I need someone to be the glue to my paper chain, the melody to all of these random lyrics, streaming them together,

I just really need sleep

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Relaxation Nation

Its that time of the semester again, the time where you are so consumed in work that you neglect your friends, your family, and even yourself. This is the time you need to take better care of yourself. Take me for example. I overindulged on pizza this weekend to get away from it, yes, pizza, you know what type of pizza I mean. It was enough that well, I puked. The thing is, it felt good to overindulge, almost like I was taking care of myself in a way. I got away from my stress, and I spent time with the people it feels like I have neglected. The way I did it was more than likely not healthy, but it still felt good, it was relaxing, calming, and a great break from life for a few hours.

That's what we need to do more. We need to get away from our lives, and pay attention to those of others. We need to see our friends and have fun. We need relax, and we, well I need more water in me. We need to relax, and take care of ourselves in whatever little way possible.

Whose with me?
Laurel Lee

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I dont know what to write anymore. Almost as if the words fail me, and fail to come out. I have so many different half completed thoughts inside my head, waiting for the words to finish them off, to complete them. I can't even begin to write them, for the endings are sometimes needed before the beginnings. I suck at ad-libbing, at improving, so in order for my thoughts to come into existance outside of my head, they must be complete, full, filled with verbs, adjectives, nouns, and meaning.

Which is why I am going to stop this post now before I get too far gone in half thunk thoughts.

Friday, October 14, 2011

Dayquil R me

  I have spent most of this week wishing I could breathe out of my nose. Like most of you already know, I still can't. I also have absolutely no voice, which is why these typed words will be my voice. I feel like this week has been mehh, and it hasn't only been this week, its been most of the semester. We started out well, 80's dancing and movie nights on the sun porch, and then it all went downhill as we all got bust with our own lives. It feels like ages since we have watched the Phantom of the Opera on the sun porch, and it was all of two weeks ago. Panera on Sunday night feels as though it happened months ago. I don;t know why, it just feels like time is going by so quickly, and so slowly a the same time. These are the years of our lives that our parents say we will always remember, so lets make these years something worth being remembered. Cherish the moments we have, and procrastinate more if it means hanging out with our friends, family members, and lovers.

   Or maybe its my lack of sleep and drugs talking.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Its Always Been Inside Of You

    Lately, I have been really tired, and sore, and well tired. I thought by now I would be back, back in softball, where I was, not having to ice things before and after every practice. But, I'm not. Sure my teammates say I am holding my own, and hanging with them all, but it doesnt feel like it on my end. I feel like there is still more that can come out of me, like I should be working longer to get back. But I can't, I'm not allowed, at least not until after fallball is over. Then I can work on sprinting for a couple hours, after doing the rest of my stuff.

   I understand that no one wants to see me get taken out again, it was devastating enough mentally for me that I honestly do not think I can go through it again. I just thought that maybe, just once, I would not be seeing Debbie and Katelynn every day for icing something other than my arm. I thought that hey, I ran a mile all summer, I should be able to run it now without anything hurting. But thats not the case. It does hurt to run and to sprint, and for once, I am not allowed to ignore it and work through it. I guess thats the biggest thing here is that normally I would just work through an injury, and now, after my ankle, I feel like I am watching every movement, analyzing every play, and just causing myself to go mental again.

    Its just that I do not feel like I did my first year coming in. I feel weaker, possibly slower though I know that one is not true. I didn't get one turtle comment while sprinting this summer. I just don't feel there, and maybe I do just need a game to feel there. Maybe I do need to quit trying to prove myself, to myself. My teammates seem to be happy with me, my coach acts like it too, but its the Phantom player in me that keeps saying, 'you need work kid, you used to hit triples with ease, and slide without an issue. You used to pitch accurately, and were a junk ball pitcher, now look at you'.

    I need to build on this season, and quit focusing on the past ones. Getting back is a part of the journey, and typically it is the longest part, and its a part I thought I would be done with by now. My current issues stem from my old injury, the getting back into the swing of things. and honestly, there is nothing I can do about that.

     I need to focus on the now, and see how much I have improved in the last year, see that this time last year, I was in a boot, getting out of the boot to walk around a bit, because I had just learned that I needed surgery. I guess the best thing I can do is continue to give it my all at practice, work hard, rest when I am supposed too(which will be the hardest part), and be there for my teamates just as much as they have been there for me.

    I may be on the journey back right now, but believe me, I will be fully back soon enough.

Monday, October 3, 2011

Cause Two Can Keep a Secret if One of Them Is Dead

  I have a bad boy complex, we know this, which is why Drew Van Acker makes perfect sense. I mean, he in the show used to be a druggie, is a really bad boy, and if you haven't seen those abs, you do not know what you are missing. Yes, this is my only non dark haired, non pale man on this list, so yeah. He has really pretty eyes, great hair, and a pretty well rounded personality.

   But there is one downfall, and you will see it in this baby, so I guess its about time to put this baby up and get it over with.

   First off, a picture of the father:

   For the moment of truth, here is our child. Please, just get the laughs out already, its simpler

 

Yep, this baby is second to last on the favorites list, and possibly belongs in white chicks.

Looking for those damn Canadians
Laurel Lee