Sunday, July 24, 2011

My iPod is now making a disheartening clicking noise, not turning on, and not being recognized by my computer. It worked for about a week, then stopped, forever. =[ Rest In Peace little green iPod nano 4th generation.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

I was once proud to be a Homa, and you ruined that for long enough. Fuck you. I am proud to hate you, disown you, and not even speak your name or believe that you exist. You deserve to die slowly, painfully, and rot in hell. Don't ever come near my family again, don't write, don't call, and screw reunions if they happen over here. I fucking hate that you share my last name, and I hate what you did, but most of all I fucking hate you.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Quirky Wonderful Me

     I finally finished that "Thinking Positive" book that my Aunt bought for me before we went off to Myrtle in March. Yes, its been a couple of months, alright more like four but that book isn't exactly fascinating reading compared to my Laurell K. Hamiltons, Sherrilyn Kenyons, and Katie McAllister's that have clogged up my book shelves. So, its done, and I am feeling a bit better about myself then when I first started it. Like every other self help book written by a Mormon Minister(for those who don't know, I am a catholic girl, which is probably another reason why I did not want to read this), it comes with Self Help exercises for one to do every day. Besides saying certain biblical phrases every day, which I will spare you from knowing because not everyone believes in the same God, or Gods that I do, there is a list that you are supposed to make about the things that make you uniquely you. I do not mean things like my favorite color is Cerulean and my favorite weekday is Thursday. I mean little quirks and things that make you more than normal. So I figured, why not just put it out there for everyone to see because you happen to be a rather open person about everything.

  • If I had a choice, I would put cilantro and basil on everything. 
  • I love knee high socks, and typically wear them to bed with a pair of plaid boxers and a black tanktop. In fact, I am wearing a pair of striped knee highs right now with a pair of denim shorts and a black tank top.
  • My favorite pair of knee highs are white with rainbow zebra print patterns. 
  • I have grey eyes that sometimes appear blue depending on my pissed off level. Its also why Ian loves me being mad at him because my eyes are blue then.
  • I was brought up a dancer, but when I first started showing the firstborn Homa curse, I switched to softball because Ballerina's can't have boobs, or be curvy. 
  • The first born Homa curse is one of large boobs. Just ask my Cousin Brian, his are just as big, but not at all perky.
  • I lost close to forty pounds from eating healthier and exercising more in the past year and three months. Take that Atkins, South Beach, Weight Watchers, and Sensa.
  • I am curvy, and proud of my curves, though I wish my butt was a tad bit rounder.
  • I want to get a celtic band as a tramp stamp.
  • I say "Fantabulous, and Amazing" way too much.
  • There is nothing better than a good preternatural romance novel.
  • I used to be an uptight goody too shoes who wanted nothing more than to be perfect.
  • I have come to realize that perfect is overrated.
  • I am a huge klutz, and due to that, I have had two surgeries before I even turned twenty. 
  • I have a raised mole on my partially flattened nose that my father swears never was there, though is there in every picture of me since I was three. 
  • 80's Hairband is my favorite thing to listen to, besides AVPM.
  • I love fire sauce with a passion. 
  • I freak out really easily.
  • I tend to always bite the right side of my bottom lip when I am nervous or in deep thought.
   Knowing me, there are way more quirks then that, but those are all I can think of for right now. 

Monday, July 18, 2011

Long Live Fred Weasley

     My Harry Potter countdown is in the two hour range now, and I am preparing myself for the scene that is going to make me bawl my eyes out. My Weasely dies. =[ sadness.

    I get to go to Denver Colorado next week, though we were all told we would be going to Puerto Rico this summer. All I can say is that there better be a lake with a beach nearby, or I am going to be a unhappy camper seeing as its a four and a half hour flight with an hour layover in Chicago and my iPod died for good two weeks ago. At least I have a couple new books to read along the way. Well, not exactly new as in I haven't read them before but new as in I have read them from the library, and all of my favorites from the series were purchased as gifts for me. That is if I can make them last until then. Frankly, I have been reading everything on my four bookshelves the past few weeks. I guess I just like the worlds that are created by the authors, as it seems as a type of escape for me. Its why I write as well, to create a world thats all my own, all my thoughts and feelings to escape in the minds of my characters. 

      Well, better go get ready to watch Fred Weasley die and bawl my eyes out.

Monday, July 11, 2011

its Levi'oo'sa not Levios'ah'

     Besides still being unemployed, life is good. I have been working my ass off at these houses, have a snuggly bunny to come home too at night when she used to be affectionately called the demon rabbit, a family that though dysfunctional is functional in its own way. I have also developed a slight tan after burning the crap out of my skin yesterday sitting on the boat for four hours. Okay, dunking Ian and swimming for about two hours and relaxing on the boat for another two. I have reconnected with an old friend who I haven't really talked to in two years, and who yelled at me for slacking on my Harry Potter knowledge. And I do not mean the movies.

       Needless to say, I am now reading all of the books over, and am about to start watching them all again, just because I miss when Hermoines hair was crimped, back combed, crimped again and fluffy, and when Harry had the cutest voice. I miss when they were little, but then again, when the movies and books came out, I was too. I was just a little kid with her own dream to go to Hogwarts, to have a school that I could not wait to get back too. Well, now I am a big kid(hell, when I was small I thought twenty was when you were so old that you were withered and decrepit), who though still waiting on my owl with my acceptance letter to Hogwarts( there is a 9 and a half inch willow wand with phoenix feather waiting on me to give it a wave), I have that school I can't wait to get back to at the end of the summer, and I am proud of that fact. I hope my sister can find one like I have. Just not mine, because, well, Chatham is mine.

        But I know I am needed here, if only for three months, and life is good. I am happy, pitching and batting a lot, fielding not so much because no one really can hit to me until my other dad can get back from work and he has been on late shift lately. My sister and I have kind of been getting along, and I am getting stuff ready to move back in in two months. First, I have to find a way to get a hold of some fabric I have been wanting to make my blanket cover, and a fridge, and get over the fact that my room is going to be smaller than the former office. And then I just have to relax, and move in, well after our family vacation to denver of course, but that is another story for another time. Yes, I am annoyed that we are not going to Jamaica like originally planned, but instead to repay my fathers bet on the Dolphins beating the Bronco's in a superbowl. Yes, it was really long ago.

Here is to the rest of the summer!
Laurel Lee

Friday, July 8, 2011

Coincidence or not?

     There is nothing more comforting to me then the sound of rain on a tin roof. I am currently sitting on my front porch on my mom's bench, and enjoying the coolness, the freshness, the smell, and the sound of the rain. Up until a few minutes ago, my dog was curled up at my feet, but he decided to run after my sister when she pulled into the driveway.

      I guess I am blogging because I helped put a man in jail yesterday. It sounds, well bad. Yes the crimes against him were obvious that it was him. His DNA was found at the scene, on the disquise he used and left at the scene. The defense's argument was that no one could identify him, but his DNA was at the scene, and he had access to everything used. There were too many coincidences for it not to be a coinicidence, and yet, I am still wondering if it was the right verdict because I helped put a man in jail.

      For understandings sake, I will put a brief overview so that every one knows what I am talking about, since I am allowed to speak about it now. June 14th of last year, a Key Bank was well, robbed. Well, attempted to be robbed. The suspect walked in, 6'2-6'4 medium complected african american, walked up to the desk wearing a black button down shirt with a logo emblazoned on the back, a long black wig, and dark sunglasses covering his face. He went up to the tellers station and demanded "Give me the mother fucking money". The teller complied and handed over two bundles of ones, totalling a thousand dollars. The suspect never noticed the on duty cop in the corner of the bank working security, and leapt onto the counter in an attempt to get more money from the drawer. The officer drew his gun and ordered him to get on the ground, and he did. The officer moved to the side to handcuff him, but the suspect pushed up off the ground, and ran. The cop tackled him outside the bank, but he managed to "buck" the cop off, and ran out of the parking lot to an already started getaway vehicle. He got away, but the money was left at the scene, every single dollar of it.

The evidence included the black shirt, and wig the suspect was wearing, the video of the robbery as it happened, and the fact that the former girlfriend of the defendant had rented the car used as the getaway vehicle as determined by the plates the cop managed to see, to the defendants family. But, the car was never searched as it had been turned into th renatl agency the same day and something went wrong there, there was more than just the suspects DNA on the items, though he was the major profile on each, and there is no one who could positively identify him at the scene. We were given no allibi, no witnesses from the defense besides the detective on the case who we had already heard from, and the body language of the suspect was very, controlling I would like to say and the other jurors agreed with me when his former girlfriend was on the stand. Then there was the DNA, at least 65% of it had come from the defendant, and he was the only profile on both that matched. There were two profiles on the shirt, three on the wig, his was the major profile on both, and the only same profile on both. So obviously he had to do it, right? There was video, and DNA, and the car. Too many coincidences, for it just to be a coincidence.

     But yet, here I am a day later doubting myself like it could change anything now. At least we now know that he had a record for robbery before, so maybe that kinda makes it a little better.

Yours Truly,
Laurel Lee